How secure is my communication and information with appear.in?

The video and audio communication in an appear.in room is only visible to participants inside a room. It is not possible for other users to listen in to the communication unless they are present in the room themselves, in which case they will be visible for everyone in the room. It is possible for anyone who can guess a room name to enter an open room. If you want to prevent others from coming into the conversation, you can lock the room by clicking the lock button in the menu. No new participants will then be able to enter the room. We have a feature where a new participant may "knock" on a room, and be presented to the user's in the room with live video. However, no video is broadcasted back to the user in this case, and the feature may also be disabled completely for some rooms. 

To control the room, we recommend claiming ownership of it. Then you can keep the room locked at all times, so no one else can enter it. For a team use case, the person who claims ownership of the room can add people as members, and they will then be able to access the room even when it's locked.

As for saving data we store as a little as possible about the user. Our main goal is to create a service that is fast and reliable and to remember you when you choose to claim a room. :) Basically the only thing we are going to know about you is what you voluntarily tell us (e-mail address and phone number if you choose to claim a room or sign up for PRO, background pictures/content for the room, etc). No video or audio is ever saved our servers. Also we don't partner with third party vendors and sell user information for targeted marketing. We believe we are part of a team with our users and respect your privacy as any good team should. You can reference more of our security and privacy standards in our  Terms of Service.

In the FREE version of the Service, communication between participants are primarily sent through peer-to-peer connections, where audio and video streams are sent directly between participants and do not pass through any or our servers. Video and audio transmitted in the Service is then sent directly between the participants in a room and is encrypted (DTLS-SRTP) with client-generated encryption keys. In cases where a user is behind a strict firewall or NAT, video and audio need to be relayed via a TURN server, but end-to-end encryption is still maintained.

If you have upgraded a room to PRO, that room will use a dedicated server infrastructure to allow more people in conversation, and better stability. Your stream will be sent through video router servers which transmits it to the other participants in the call, and also transmits their streams to you. Streams will always be encrypted (DTLS-SRTP) in transit, but will be decrypted and re-encrypted when passing through the video routers. We operate an infrastructure of video routers distributed across the world, and you will be automatically routed to the closest one. The video router servers and all of our infrastructure adhere to strict security measures, preventing any eavesdropping or interruption of the video/audio streams." More information on our encryption practices are available within our  Terms of Service

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us