Use Group Mode

Note

If you haven't used room modes yet, your PRO room will automatically start off in Normal mode. You can switch it if you're expecting more than 4 people in your room for the meeting. After changing the room mode, your room will remain in the same state the next time you enter your room.

An additional thing to note is that Group Mode doesn't offer significant benefits in performance when there are 4 or less participants in a room, and can even hurt performance in some cases. If you're having a small meeting, we still recommend using Normal Mode.

Group Mode is designed to make meetings more efficient with how much bandwidth and battery you're using. This is made possible by our in-house media servers, which process and distribute the video/audio feeds so your computer doesn't have to! All PRO rooms come with room mode control, and your room mode can be switched by room owners and Members.

When you switch your room mode, everyone's page will automatically refresh and they'll re-enter the room in Group Mode!

More about Group Mode

Normal mode, which is the only mode with a FREE account, reliably supports up to 4 people. This is because normal mode is based on a peer-to-peer model, where all video and audio is sent directly between each of the participants. This can give very good quality in 1:1 calls, but does not scale to more than a few participants before quality can start to suffer (especially for more than 3 users in a room). So even though we allow up to 8 people in the free version, you may see that quality can start deteriorating with 4-5 people. This model is also more susceptible to quality issues from participants having a poor network connection or experiencing high latency with their internet. This can affect the quality for everyone in the room. 
Group mode uses a different server infrastructure, which routes videos through a global network of servers. This makes it possible to support larger groups in a conversation, and also reduces the CPU load of encoding and decoding videos.  While both room types do still require an adequate internet connection, group mode handles the bandwidth you use to send and receive video more efficiently once you add more people to the room. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us