How do I use the group mode feature?
To make meetings more efficient with how much bandwidth you are using, our Premium rooms now come with room mode control! This control can be switched by room owners and members.
If you haven't used room modes yet, your premium room will automatically start off in normal room mode. You can switch it if you are expecting more than 4 people in your room for the meeting.
When you switch your room mode the room will automatically refresh for everyone in the room.
Have some unexpected guests and forget to switch your mode? No worries, we will send you a quick reminder once the fifth participant enters:
Your room mode setting will remain in the same state the next time you enter your room.
Why group mode?
Normal mode, which is the only mode in the free version, reliably supports up to 3-4 people. This is because normal mode is based on a peer-to-peer model, where all video and audio is sent directly between each of the participants. This can give very good quality in 1:1 calls, but does not scale to more than a few participants before quality can start to suffer (especially for more than 3 users in a room). So even though we allow up to 8 people in the free version, you may see that quality can start deteriorating with 4-5 people. This model is also more susceptible to quality issues from participants having a poor network connection or experiencing high latency with their internet. This can affect the quality for everyone in the room.
Group mode uses a different server infrastructure, which routes videos through a global network of servers. This makes it possible to support larger groups in a conversation, and also reduces the CPU load of encoding and decoding videos. While both room types do still require an adequate internet connection, group mode handles the bandwidth you use to send and receive video more efficiently once you add more people to the room.