In this article
In order to maintain control of a room name or customize a room (PRO feature) you must first Create it on your account. When you create a room you're assuming ownership of the virtual space, and you'll have the ability to:
- Lock the room
- Kick any unwanted visitors
- Customize the background, logo, and knock page (PRO features)
- Use the room name for all future meetings
The first thing that you'll need to do to Create a room is Sign up for an appear.in account. To sign up, simply go to our Sign up page and enter your email address! We'll ask you a few questions about how you're using appear.in, and also to confirm your email address.
After confirming your email, you'll be taken to the Dashboard. The Dashboard is where you can Create new rooms, and also lists any rooms that you Own, or that you're a Member of.
To Create a new room, click the Create a room button. This opens a box where you can type in your desired room name, and Create it under your account!
FREE users can only create one room on their account. If you want to create more than one room, you'll need to subscribe to our PRO service.
If you are no longer in need of a certain room and room name, you can delete the room from your rooms list. Make sure you are signed into your owner profile and navigate to your rooms list at https://appear.in. From here you can click on the X next to the room name to delete it.
You'll be ask to confirm that you want to delete the room before it's completely removed. When this action is complete all room customization will be removed as well.
Change a Room Name
To change your room name you will first need to delete the unwanted room. After you delete the unwanted room you can Create the room name that you want by following the steps above.
Transfer Room to Another User
If you are needing to transfer the ownership of a room to another user, it first needs to be deleted from your account. After the room has been deleted, the user that is wanting to take ownership of it can Create it under their account. We always suggest for the new owner to Create the room immediately after it has been deleted from the releasing account.